For outstanding scholarly or artistic accomplishment

Nancy Batson Nisbet Rash was the Lucy C. McDannel '22 Professor of Art History and taught at Connecticut College from 1972 to 1995. She was known for her energy and vibrancy, for the encouragement and support she gave her students, and for her love of art and of life.

Professor Rash's scholarship, which often focused on the role politics plays in art history, was outstanding. She was an exceptional teacher, scholar and campus leader. Professor Rash received her bachelor's degree in 1962 from Radcliffe College, a master's degree in 1965 and a Ph.D. in 1971 from Bryn Mawr College. She served as chair of Connecticut College's art history department from 1980-84 and 1987-93.

The award named in Professor Rash's honor provides a research fund to be presented annually to a member of the faculty for outstanding scholarly or artistic accomplishments. It was established in her memory by her father, General Dillman Rash, and her husband, Frank Turner, John Hay Whitney Professor of History at Yale University and a Connecticut College trustee.

Recipients of the Rash Award are:

2023: Jeff Moher, psychology

2022: David Dorfman, dance

2021: Catherine M. Stockhistory

2020: Michelle Dunlap, human development

2019: Ann S. Devlin, psychology

2018: Sunil Bhatia, human development

2017: Derek Turner, philosophy

2016: Martha Grossel, biology

2015: Gene Gallagher, religious studies

2014: Gary Parker, computer science

2013: Joan C. Chrisler, psychology

2012: Alex Roberto Hybel, government/international relations

2011: Jennifer Fredricks, human development

2010: Timo Ovaska, chemistry

2009: Abigail Van Slyck, art history, architectural studies

2008: Jefferson Singer, psychology

2007: Marc Forster, history

2006: John Gordon, English

2005: Marc Zimmer, chemistry

2004: Lindsey Harlan, religious studies

2003: W. John Coats, government

2002: Bruce Branchini, chemistry

2001: Bruce Kirmmse, history

2000: Robert Askins, biology

1999: Garrett Green, religious studies

1998: Peter Siver, botany

1997: Janet Gezari, English

1996: Frederick Paxton, history