Skip to main content

Faculty Profiles

Our commitment to outstanding teaching began with the opening of the first classes in New London Hall in the fall of 1915 and continues to this day.

Connecticut College professors are active scholars, researchers and mentors. Many have won national recognition for their teaching and research. Their collective experience – and their commitment to their students – gives the campus its intellectual vibrancy and shapes our reputation as one of the nation's best liberal arts colleges.

View profiles of individual professors below.


Name Department(s) Mailbox Phone                    Email
Accardi, Dean History, Global Islamic Studies Program 5552 (860) 439-2051 daccardi@conncoll.edu
Alchermes, Joseph Art History, Architectural Studies 5336 (860) 439-2734 jdalc@conncoll.edu
Andersen, Alison Theater 5397 (860) 439-2346 aander11@conncoll.edu
Anderson, Lauren Education (On sabbatical, Academic Year 2018-2019) 5224 (860) 439-2383 lauren.anderson@conncoll.edu
Anderson, Virginia Theater 5354 (860) 439-2443 vanderso@conncoll.edu
Anthony, John P. Music 5244 (860) 439-2718 jpant@conncoll.edu
Arm, Theodore Music 5244 (860) 439-2720 tarm@conncoll.edu
Assor, Nadav Art (On sabbatical, Academic Year 2018-2019) 5296 (860) 439-5251 nassor@conncoll.edu
Athamneh, Waed Classics, Global Islamic Studies Program (On sabbatical, Academic Year 2018-2019) 5265 (860) 439-2052 wathamne@conncoll.edu
Atherton, Geoffrey German 5347 (860) 439-2292 gath@conncoll.edu
Austin, James French 5284 (860) 439-2560 jfaus@conncoll.edu
Bailey, Gregory A. Art 5263 (860) 439-2315 gabai@conncoll.edu
Baldwin, Robert Art History (On sabbatical, Spring 2019) 5411 (860) 439-2733 rwbal@conncoll.edu
Ballah, Henryatta History 5552 (860) 439-2529 hballah@conncoll.edu
Barnard, Chris Art (On sabbatical, Academic Year 2018-2019) 5302 (860) 439-5341 cbarnard@conncoll.edu
Barnes, Phillip Biology 5406 (860) 439-2148 ptbar@conncoll.edu
Bennett, Joyce Anthropology 5358 (860) 439-2228 Joyce.Bennett@conncoll.edu
Benoit, Catherine Anthropology 5307 (860) 439-5303 cben@conncoll.edu
Beranek, Benjamin Economics 5308 (860) 439-5519 bberanek@conncoll.edu
Bernhard, Anne Biology 5213 (860) 439-2580 aeber@conncoll.edu
Bhatia, Sunil Human Development 5474 (860) 439-5078 ssbha@conncoll.edu
Black, Rachel Anthropology 5552 (860) 439-5427 rblack@conncoll.edu
Borer, Tristan Government, International Relations 5316 (860) 439-5411 tabor@conncoll.edu
Borrelli, MaryAnne Government, International Relations 5418 (860) 439-2247 mabor@conncoll.edu
Boyd, Blanche English 5421 (860) 439-2123 bboyd@conncoll.edu
Branchini, Bruce Chemistry (On sabbatical, Spring 2019) 5214 (860) 439-2479 brbra@conncoll.edu
Brown, Leslie Physics, Astronomy, Geophysics 5361 (860) 439-2345 lfbro@conncoll.edu
Brown, Thomas Music (860) 439-2720 thomas.brown@conncoll.edu
Buttery, Gary A. Music (860) 439-2720 gary.buttery@conncoll.edu
Cangemi, Michael History 5552 (860) 439-2246 mcangemi@conncoll.edu
Canton, David History 5286 (860) 439-5264 dacan@conncoll.edu
Chalmin, Ronan Y. French 5368 (860) 439-2187 rchalmin@conncoll.edu
Chan, Michael Japanese, East Asian Languages and Cultures 5617 (860) 439-2389 mchan2@conncoll.edu
Chavanne, David Economics (On sabbatical, Academic Year 2018-2019) 5552 (860) 439-2194 dchavann@conncoll.edu
Chhabria, Sheetal History 5432 (860) 439-2475 schhabri@conncoll.edu
Ching, Stanton Chemistry 5324 (860) 439-2753 sschi@conncoll.edu
Chomiak, Beverly A. Physics, Astronomy, Geophysics 5004 (860) 439-2798 bacho@conncoll.edu
Chrisler, Joan C. Psychology (On sabbatical, Spring 2019) 5578 (860) 439-2336 jcchr@conncoll.edu
Chung, Christine Computer Science 5335 (860) 439-2074 cchung@conncoll.edu
Clark, John Music 5244 (860) 439-2720 johnlclarkjr@aol.com
Coats, Wendell John Government, International Relations 5425 (860) 439-2016 wjcoa@conncoll.edu
Colbath, Christopher Slavic Studies 5377 (860) 439-2815 ccol@conncoll.edu
Cole, Jeffrey Anthropology (860) 439-2030 jcole1@conncoll.edu
Collins-Achille, Shani Dance 5348 (860) 439-5410 scollin2@conncoll.edu
Coyle, Christine Music 5244 (860) 439-2720 ccoyle1@conncoll.edu
Craigie, Terry-Ann Economics 5308 (860) 439-2638 tcraigie@conncoll.edu
Crawford, Lindsay Philosophy 5312 (860) 439-2363 lcrawfo1@conncoll.edu
Cruz-Saco, Maria Economics (On sabbatical, Spring 2019) 5344 (860) 439-5212 macru@conncoll.edu
Daggett, Thomas Computer Science tadag@conncoll.edu
Davis, Andrew Environmental Studies Program (860) 251-5839 adavis@goodwin.com
Dawson, Jane Government, International Relations, Environmental Studies Program 5334 (860) 439-2385 jidaw@conncoll.edu
Devlin, Ann S. Psychology 5448 (860) 439-2333 asdev@conncoll.edu
Diagne, Mohamed A. Physics, Astronomy, Geophysics 5273 (860) 439-5169 mdiagne@conncoll.edu
Dooling, Amy East Asian Languages and Cultures, Global Initiatives 5385 (860) 439-2583 addoo@conncoll.edu
Dorfman, David Dance 5283 (860) 439-5283 dcdor@conncoll.edu
Downs, James T. History 5328 (860) 439-2220 jdowns@conncoll.edu
Dunlap, Michelle R. Human Development 5223 (860) 439-2634 mrdun@conncoll.edu
Eastman, Deborah Biology 5315 (860) 439-2445 daeas@conncoll.edu
Egan, Danielle Gender, Sexuality and Intersectionality Studies 5266 (860) 439-2671 regan1@conncoll.edu
Elmer, Mathias Music 5524 melmer@conncoll.edu
Feldman, Simon D. Philosophy 5374 (860) 439-2990 sfeld@conncoll.edu
Ferhatović, Denis English (On sabbatical, Academic Year 2018-2019) (860) 439-5276 dferhato@conncoll.edu
Flagg, Julia A. Sociology, Environmental Studies Program (On sabbatical Fall 2018) 5456 (860) 439-2522 julia.flagg@conncoll.edu
Flores, Ronald Sociology 5387 (860) 439-2625 rflores@conncoll.edu
Fontneau, Vicki Chemistry 5598 (860) 439-2491 vjfon@conncoll.edu
Forster, Marc History, Global Initiatives 5497 (860) 439-2591 mrfor@conncoll.edu
Frasure, William Government, International Relations (860) 439-2010 wgfra@conncoll.edu
Frenkel, Ian Music 5244 (860) 439-2720 Ian.Frenkel@conncoll.edu
Garofalo, Leo J. History 5435 (860) 439-2098 lgar@conncoll.edu
Gaubinger, Rachel English 5225 rgaubing@conncoll.edu
Gay, Robert Sociology 5478 (860) 439-2299 rjgay@conncoll.edu
Gomez, Judelysse Psychology 5386 (860) 439-2039 jgomez2@conncoll.edu
González, Luis M. Hispanic Studies 5364 (860) 439-2230 lmgon@conncoll.edu
Gonzalez Rice, Karen Art History 5346 (860) 439-5103 kgonzal1@conncoll.edu
Gorman, Jennifer Psychology 5498 (860) 439-2326 jgorm@conncoll.edu
Grahn, Ruth E. Psychology, Behavioral Neuroscience Program (On sabbatical, Fall 2018) 5275 (860) 439-2387 regra@conncoll.edu
Grande, Sandy Education (On sabbatical, Fall 2018) 5224 (860) 439-2763 smgra@conncoll.edu
Graesch, Anthony Anthropology (On sabbatical, Academic Year 2018-2019) 5408 (860) 439-2116 agraesch@conncoll.edu
Graziano, Frank Hispanic Studies 5382 (860) 439-5220 fgraz@conncoll.edu
Grossel, Martha J. Biology 5331 (860) 439-5209 mjgro@conncoll.edu
Hamlett, Nakia Psychology 5516 (860) 439-2533 nhamlett@conncoll.edu
Hammond, Christopher Mathematics 5384 (860) 439-2647 cnham@conncoll.edu
Hardeman, Kristine J. Biology, Botany 5417 (860) 439-5479 khardema@conncoll.edu
Harrall, Robert Government, International Relations rharrall@conncoll.edu
Harris, Cherise A. Sociology (On sabbatical, Spring 2019) 5373 (860) 439-2819 charris4@conncoll.edu
Hartman, Charles O. English 5505 (860) 439-2172 cohar@conncoll.edu
Harper, Patricia L. Music 5244 (860) 439-2719 plhar@conncoll.edu
Heredia, Aida Hispanic Studies 5655 (860) 439-5409 alher@conncoll.edu
Hine, Pamela Botany 5445 (860) 439-2141 pghin@conncoll.edu
Howes, Candace Economics 5381 (860) 439-5447 chow@conncoll.edu
Henderson, Heidi Dance 5351 (860) 439-2857 hhend@conncoll.edu
Hove, Shawn Dance 5204 (860) 439-2844 shove@conncoll.edu
Huang, Yibing East Asian Languages and Cultures 5278 (860) 439-2581 yhua@conncoll.edu
Irwin, Whit Mathematics (860) 439-2007 wirwin@conncoll.edu
Zhdanovskikh, Maksim Ivanov Music 5244 (860) 439-2720 mzhdanov@conncoll.edu
Ivanov, Petko Slavic Studies 5443 (860) 439-5449 pivanov@conncoll.edu
Izmirli, Ozgur Computer Science 5318 (860) 439-5139 oizm@conncoll.edu
Jafar, Afshan Sociology 5488 (860) 439-2282 ajafar@conncoll.edu
Jaffe, David Theater (On sabbatical, Academic Year 2018-2019) 5363 (860) 439-2562 djaffe@conncoll.edu
Jarvis, Peter Music 5244 (860) 439-2720 pjarvis@conncoll.edu
Johnson, Shakia Dance 5204 sjohnson1@conncoll.edu
Johnson, Warren P. Mathematics 5414 (860) 439-5360 warren.johnson@conncoll.edu
Jones, Chad Botany 5398 (860) 439-5304 cjones8@conncoll.edu
Kane, Eileen M. History, Global Islamic Studies Program 5415 (860) 439-2442 ekane2@conncoll.edu
Kim, David K. Religious Studies (On sabbatical, Fall 2018) 5395 (860) 439-5075 dkkim@conncoll.edu
King, Tek-wah East Asian Languages and Cultures 5454 (860) 439-2980 tkin@conncoll.edu
Knott, Suzuko German 5467 (860) 439-2833 sknott@conncoll.edu
Kobayashi, Hisae Japanese, East Asian Languages and Cultures 5486 (860) 439-2584 hkob@conncoll.edu
Kohli, Priya Mathematics (On sabbatical, Academic Year 2018-2019) 5422 (860) 439-2026 pkohli@conncoll.edu
Kuder, Emily Hispanic Studies 5552 (860) 439-2528 ekuder@conncoll.edu
Kushigian, Julia A. Hispanic Studies (On sabbatical, Academic Year 2018-2019) 5562 (860) 439-2239 jakus@conncoll.edu
Lanoux, Andrea D. Slavic Studies 5301 (860) 439-5148 alano@conncoll.edu
Lee, Ellen (860) 439-2235 elee5@conncoll.edu
Lee, S. James Computer Science 5485 (860) 439-2008 slee10@conncoll.edu
Levin, Andrew Government, International Relations 5446 (860) 439-2417 alevin2@conncoll.edu
Little, Laura Slavic Studies, Global Initiatives (860) 439-5387 llittle@conncoll.edu
Lizarralde, Manuel Botany, Environmental Studies Program 5407 (860) 439-2138 mliz@conncoll.edu
López-Anuarbe, Mónika Economics (On sabbatical, Academic Year 2018-2019) 5272 (860) 439-5257 manuarbe@conncoll.edu
Machtans, Karolin German, Global Islamic Studies Program (On sabbatical, Academic Year 2018-2019) 5457 (860) 439-2674 kmachtan@conncoll.edu
Madura, John 5224 (860) 439-2014 jmadura@conncoll.edu
Campos Manzo, Ana Lilia Sociology 5367 (860) 439-2006 acamposh@conncoll.edu
Marks, Pamela J. Art 5458 (860) 439-2736 pjmar@conncoll.edu
Marshall, Jillian C. Psychology 5516 (860) 439-2648 jmarsha4@conncoll.edu
Martin, Nina K. Film Studies 5517 (860) 439-2676 nmartin1@conncoll.edu
Marulis, Loren Human Development 5223 (860) 439-2802 lmarulis@conncoll.edu
McCormick, Mark Music 5244 (860) 439-2720 mmccormi@conncoll.edu
McDonald, Kate Biology 5213 (860) 439-2519 kmcdonal@conncoll.edu
McDowell, Timothy Art (On sabbatical, Spring 2019) 5545 (860) 439-2746 tjmcd@conncoll.edu
McKenna, Edward J. Economics 5538 (860) 439-2594 ejmck@conncoll.edu
McKeon, Kathleen Mathematics 5561 (860) 439-2012 kamck@conncoll.edu
McNeish, James Music 5267 (860) 439-2721 jkmcn@conncoll.edu
Melo, Daniela Government, International Relations dfmel@conncoll.edu
Mitchell, Peter Government, International Relations (860) 439-5213 pmitche4@conncoll.edu
Moher, Jeff Psychology (On leave, Spring 2018) 5392 (860) 439-2339 jmoher@conncoll.edu
Monce, Michael N. Physics, Astronomy, Geophysics (On sabbatical, Spring 2019) 5553 (860) 439-2348 mnmon@conncoll.edu
Morelli, Frida Italian Studies 5508 (860) 439-5488 fmorelli@conncoll.edu
Morin, Ross W. 5491 (860) 439-2636 rwmor@conncoll.edu
Moy, Wendy K. Music 5244 (860) 439-2724 wmoy@conncoll.edu
Mukerji, Purba Economics 5535 (860) 439-5187 pmukerji@conncoll.edu
Myers, Tobias Classics 5447 (860) 439-5293 tmyers@conncoll.edu
Neely, Michelle English, Environmental Studies Program 5426 (860) 439-5143 mneelyya@conncoll.edu
Nelson, Sean Music nelsonsean12@gmail.com
Nepram, Binalakshmi "Bina" Gender, Sexuality and Intersectionality Studies 5266 bnepramm@conncoll.edu
Newman, Patrice Music (860) 439-2720 pnewman3@conncoll.edu
Nier, Jason A. Psychology 5305 (860) 439-5057 janie@conncoll.edu
Notarfrancisco, Sabrina Theater 5536 (860) 439-2635 snotar@conncoll.edu
Noreen, Rebecca Music (860) 439-2720 rjnor@conncoll.edu
O'Connor, Kelli Music (860) 439-2720 koconno3@conncoll.edu
O'Keefe, Augustine B. "Tina" Mathematics 5285 (860) 439-2637 Augustine.OKeefe@conncoll.edu
Ogano, Kumi Music 5244 (860) 439-2720 kogan@conncoll.edu
Ostby, Marie English, Global Islamic Studies Program 5225 mostby@conncoll.edu
Ovaska, Timo V. Chemistry 5537 (860) 439-2488 tvova@conncoll.edu
Owen, T. Page Botany 5555 (860) 439-2147 tpowe@conncoll.edu
Pack, Spencer Economics 5554 (860) 439-2221 sjpac@conncoll.edu
Papathanasopoulou, Nina Theater 5403 (860) 439-5048 epapatha@conncoll.edu
Park, Yong Jin Economics 5542 (860) 439-2514 ypark@conncoll.edu
Parker, Gary Computer Science (On sabbatical, Fall 2018) 5477 (860) 439-5208 parker@conncoll.edu
Patel-Lye, Niralee Education 5224 (860) 439-2639 npatellye@conncoll.edu
Patton, Carmela Italian Studies, Dean of the College, Global Initiatives (860) 439-2053 cpatton@conncoll.edu
Patton, David Government, International Relations 5527 (860) 439-2643 dfpat@conncoll.edu
Paxton, Frederick S. History 5603 (860) 439-2298 fspax@conncoll.edu
Pelletier, Denise Art, Architectural Studies 5476 (860) 439-5205 dpelleti@conncoll.edu
Pessin, Andrew Philosophy 5396 (860) 439-2191 apessin@conncoll.edu
Phillips, Darryl Classics 5466 (860) 439-5415 Darryl.Phillips@conncoll.edu
Portnoff, Sharon J. Religious Studies 5566 (860) 439-2937 sportnof@conncoll.edu
Prestininzi, Kenneth Theater 5472 (860) 439-5489 kprestin@conncoll.edu
Queen, Sarah A. History 5572 (860) 439-2590 saque@conncoll.edu
Race, Lisa Dance (On sabbatical, Fall 2018) 5204 (860) 439-2848 lrace@conncoll.edu
Reder, Michael R. Joy Shechtman Mankoff Center for Teaching & Learning, Roth Writing Center 5313 (860) 439-2122 mrred@conncoll.edu
Rivkin, Julie English, Gender, Sexuality and Intersectionality Studies 5593 (860) 439-2198 jhriv@conncoll.edu
Roberts, Rosemarie Dance 5627 (860) 439-2388 rrobert1@conncoll.edu
Rotramel, Ariella R. Gender, Sexuality and Intersectionality Studies (On sabbatical, Spring 2019) (860) 439-2858 arotrame@conncoll.edu
Rudolph, Jennifer L. Hispanic Studies 5515 (860) 439-2284 jrudolph@conncoll.edu
Sayej, Caroleen Government, International Relations, Global Islamic Studies Program 5533 (860) 439-5245 csayej@conncoll.edu
Schenk, Richard Dance 5271 (860) 439-5397 resch@conncoll.edu
Schneider, Tanya L. Chemistry (On sabbatical, Academic Year 2018-2019) 5464 (860) 439-2481 tschneid@conncoll.edu
Schroeder, Joseph A. Psychology, Behavioral Neuroscience Program 5563 (860) 439-2036 jasch@conncoll.edu
Seifert, Michael Physics, Astronomy, Geophysics 5575 (860) 439-5138 mseifer1@conncoll.edu
Selinsky, Peter Music 5244 pselinsky@conncoll.edu
Sesma, Megan Music (860) 439-2720 msesma@conncoll.edu
Sharpe, Chantelle Human Development 5223 (860) 439-2518 csharpe@conncoll.edu
Shields, Francis Athletics 5568 (860) 439-2570 fjshi@conncoll.edu
Shoemaker, Steven English, Roth Writing Center 5313 (860) 439-5149 sshoemak@conncoll.edu
Sica, Paola Italian Studies 5376 (860) 439-2028 psica@conncoll.edu
Singer, Jefferson A. Psychology 5586 (860) 439-2050 jasin@conncoll.edu
Siver, Peter Botany, Environmental Studies Program 5604 (860) 439-2160 pasiv@conncoll.edu
Spicer, Rachel Botany 5487 (860) 439-2154 rspicer@conncoll.edu
Steiner, Christopher B. Anthropology, Art History, Museum Studies Program (On sabbatical, Fall 2018) 5595 (860) 439-2797 cbste@conncoll.edu
Stelzner, Mark Joseph Economics 5552 (860) 439-5066 mstelzn2@conncoll.edu
Stewart, Jacob Chemistry (On sabbatical, Spring 2019) 5214 (860) 439-2478 jstewar3@conncoll.edu
Stock, Catherine M. History, American Studies Program 5326 (860) 439-2816 cmsto@conncoll.edu
Strabone, Jeff English 5574 (860) 439-2701 jstrabon@conncoll.edu
Suriyapperuma, Sardha Biology, Botany 5495 (860) 439-5361 ssuriyap@conncoll.edu
Susskind, Perry D. Mathematics (On sabbatical, Spring 2019) 5596 (860) 439-2025 pdsus@conncoll.edu
Talmadge, Samantha Music 5244 (860) 439-2720 samantha.talmadge@conncoll.edu
Tarimo, William Computer Science 5428 (860) 439-2320 wtarimo@conncoll.edu
Tarsis, Emily Chemistry 5214 (860) 439-2964 etarsis@conncoll.edu
Thomas, Joshua Music 5244 (860) 439-2720 joshua.thomas@conncoll.edu
Thomas, Margaret (Midge) Music (On sabbatical, Academic Year 2018-2019) 5244 (860) 439-2728 metho@conncoll.edu
Thompson, Douglas M. Physics, Astronomy, Geophysics 5585 (860) 439-5016 dmtho@conncoll.edu
Thorne, Jaime L. Music 5244 (860) 439-2720 jthorne@conncoll.edu
Tian, John Qunjian Government, International Relations 5287 (860) 439-5263 jqtia@conncoll.edu
Turner, Derek Philosophy 5606 (860) 439-2675 dtur@conncoll.edu
Uddin, Sufia Religious Studies, Global Islamic Studies Program 5634 (860) 439-2954 suddin@conncoll.edu
Ursin, Marya Dance (860) 439-2830 mursin@conncoll.edu
Vallye, Anna Art History, Architectural Studies 5206 (860) 439-5234 avallye@conncoll.edu
Van Cleve, Libby Music (860) 439-2720 lvanclev@conncoll.edu
Van Slyck, Abigail Art History (860) 439-2033 aavan@conncoll.edu
Vogel, Larry Philosophy 5628 (860) 439-2184 lavog@conncoll.edu
Waller, Jurate Švedaite Music 5244 (860) 439-2720 jwaller@conncoll.edu
Weinstein, Michael Physics, Astronomy, Geophysics 5622 (860) 439-2347 mawei@conncoll.edu
Wilder, Lina Perkins English (On sabbatical, Spring 2019) 5625 (860) 439-2142 lwilder@conncoll.edu
Williams, Benjamin C. French 5605 (860) 439-2354 bwillia7@conncoll.edu
Wilson, James Dale Music (On sabbatical, Academic Year 2018-2019) 5244 (860) 439-2723 jdwil@conncoll.edu
Wilson, Lisa H. History (On sabbatical Fall 2018) 5526 (860) 439-2246 lhwil@conncoll.edu
Wollensak, Andrea Art 5641 (860) 439-2748 ajwol@conncoll.edu
Wright, Dana Education 5224 (860) 439-5115 dwright3@conncoll.edu
Wuyke, William Athletics 5366 (860) 439-2555 wcwuy@conncoll.edu
Zakriski, Audrey L. Psychology 5646 (860) 439-5134 alzak@conncoll.edu
Zhang, Wei Economics, Environmental Studies Program (On sabbatical Fall 2018) 5576 (860) 439-2224 Wei.Zhang@conncoll.edu
Zimmer, Marc Chemistry 5214 (860) 439-2476 mzim@conncoll.edu
Dreyer, Glenn Botany, Arboretum 5201 (860) 439-2144 gddre@conncoll.edu
Seto, Mark Music 5244 (860) 439-2617 mseto@conncoll.edu