At Alumni Convocation, six alumni were presented with prestigious awards and honored for their dedication to Connecticut College. Learn more about this year's winners.

Mach Arom '89 Award: Yoko Shimada '99

The Mach Arom '89 award, which honors young alumni for service to Connecticut College and for distinguished achievements in their professional field or in society, is being awarded to Yoko Shimada '99. 

Shimada, who majored in German studies and psychology at Connecticut College, is a health specialist at the World Bank, which strives to reduce poverty and provide support to developing countries around the world. In her role, Shimada manages and strengthens health systems in Africa, building partnerships between governments, private sector organizations, NGOs and major donors and foundations. 

On campus, Shimada has served on the Toor Cummings Center for International Studies and the Liberal Arts (CISLA) advisory board and as an alumni admission representative. She has also brought great insights to juniors and seniors through the Seminar on Success program, which provides workshops to help students transition from college to the workforce. 

Harriet Buescher Lawrence '34 Prize: Amy Moore Paterson '94

‌The Harriet Buescher Lawrence '34 Prize, which recognizes alumni who are leaders in improving society or inspiring others for good, is being awarded to Amy Moore Paterson '94.

Paterson, who majored in English at Connecticut College, is the vice president of Portland, Ore.-based Lane Marketing Communications and the co-founder of My Little Waiting Room, an innovative, drop-in hospital childcare center designed to reduce the stress of hospital visits for patients and visitors.

Since opening at St. Vincent Medical Center in 2010, My Little Waiting Room has thrived, providing a safe and nurturing environment for thousands of children. In 2013, a second location was added at Providence Portland Medical Center. 

Goss Award: Martha Clampitt Merrill '84

‌‌The Goss Award, given in recognition of alumni who have made significant contributions to the College community through enthusiastic participation in programs and activities, is being awarded to Martha Clampitt Merrill '84.

Merrill is the College's dean of admission and financial aid. As such, her sustained dedication to the College is legendary. She first served as an alumni admission representative after graduation, then volunteered for the College’s alumni and admission officer before joining the staff as a counselor in 1990.

Outside of business hours, Merrill, who majored in psychology at Connecticut College, has dedicated her time as a class agent, club secretary, regional programmer and reunion committee member, as well as Unity Alumni Council member and INACT-Unity Council friend.  

Alumni Tribute Award: Judith Bamberg Mariggio '69

For her hard work and engaging style as a class correspondent for more than two decades, Judith Bamberg Mariggio '69 is being awarded the Alumni Tribute Award. The award was established in 1986 to honor alumni for sustained and extraordinary service to Connecticut College in keeping with the spirit of the Alumni Association.

In her role as a class correspondent, Mariggio, who majored in classics at the College, compiles news of classmates and their families, keeping classmates in touch with one another and the college with a personal touch and endearing style all her own. 

A retired executive assistant for Palm Beach Day School in Florida, Mariggio is also known for lending a helping hand at Reunions and assisting fellow class leaders. 

Agnes Berkeley Leahy Award: Mark Howes '89

The Agnes Berkeley Leahy Award, which honors alumni who have contributed outstanding service and sustained active participation in Alumni Association activities, is being awarded to Mark Howes '89.

Howes is a former cross country and track field member who led his class as chairman of this year's 25th reunion. He has also served the College as an alumni admission representative, regional club president and regional career coordinator.

A history and religious studies major at Connecticut College, Howes is the owner of Howes Tax and Bookkeeping Services in San Francisco, Calif. 

Agnes Berkeley Leahy Award: Helen Dewey '89

The Agnes Berkeley Leahy Award, which honors alumni who have contributed outstanding service and sustained active participation in Alumni Association activities, is being awarded to Helen Dewey '89.

Dewey, who served as chair of her class's 20th reunion committee, is being honored for her dynamic leadership and energetic support of the College. Her efforts as chair resulted in increased attendance, providing the catalyst for future 20th reunion classes to increase attendance at reunions. In addition, she has worked tirelessly over the years to keep the class of 1989 connected amongst themselves and to the College as class agent and class president, and she has served as an alumni admission representative. In 2010, she led a class effort to raise funds for a memorial tree and service for classmate Royce Holmes.

Dewey, who majored in government and history at Connecticut College, is president of Syracuse-based Dewey Intelligence and Strategy.