Four win College’s highest faculty honors

With its emphasis on undergraduate education, Connecticut College is known for faculty excellence, particularly in the areas of research, teaching and leadership. Each year, the College honors four professors for upholding the ideals of what it means to teach at Connecticut College.

The institution’s most prestigious faculty awards were presented at a May 10 ceremony to professors Joan C. Chrisler, Anthony P. Graesch, Denise Pelletier and Lawrence Vogel.

Nancy Batson Nisbet Rash Faculty Research Award

, the Class of ’43 Professor of Psychology at Connecticut College, is the recipient of the 2013 Nancy Batson Nisbet Rash Faculty Research Award, presented annually to a faculty member selected on the basis of outstanding scholarly or artistic accomplishments. Chrisler was recognized for the depth, breadth and sheer quantity of her original research; for winning multiple awards; for earning national and international recognition by her peers; and for her ability to collaborate with Connecticut College students and faculty and with national and international peers.

Chrisler, an expert in women’s psychology and issues including women’s health, menstruation and menopause, body image, eating disorders, chronic illness and gender roles, has been a professor at Connecticut College since 1987. She is internationally known for her writing on women’s issues and is the author of 10 books and many more articles and book chapters. Her recent works include “Women Over 50: Psychological Perspectives,” “Reproductive Justice: A Global Concern” and “From Menarche to Menopause: The Female Body in Feminist Therapy.”

Chrisler has won a number of awards for her work, including the Margaret Floy Washburn Award from the New York State Psychological Association for significant contributions to feminist psychology and the Distinguished Leader Award from APA's Committee on Women in Psychology, and has served in leadership roles for several national psychology associations.

Helen Mulvey Faculty Award

Anthony P. Graesch, assistant professor of anthropology, is the recipient of the 2013 Helen Mulvey Faculty Award, presented to an assistant professor who regularly offers classes that challenge students to work harder than they thought they could and to reach unanticipated levels of academic achievement.

Graesch, a four-field-trained anthropologist whose research and teaching focus on the archaeology of North America, was honored for his ability to challenge and engage his students. He teaches courses that address the practice and theory of archaeological anthropology, as well as intensive seminars that explore the relationship of contemporary urbanites to their material worlds, the methodological foundations of scientifically rigorous field- and laboratory-based archaeology, and the study of colonialism.

“Not only does Professor Graesch challenge his students to learn more than they thought possible, he also serves as a model to colleagues,” wrote Professor of Anthropology Jeffrey Cole in a letter nominating Graesch for the award. “I can think of no higher compliment.”

John S. King Memorial Award

Denise Pelletier, associate professor of art and chair of the art department, is the recipient of the 2013 John S. King Memorial Award, established to recognize teacher-scholars with high standards of teaching excellence and concern for students.

Pelletier, a professor at Connecticut College since 2005, specializes in ceramics, sculpture and site-specific art. She was honored for her commitment to her students and for her interdisciplinary approach to teaching art. 

“Professor Pelletier fosters a strong sense of community in her classes,” said Delaney Vartanian ’13. “She takes time outside of class to get to know each of her students. She motivates and challenges each person to develop their own interests and her passion for art and inspires students to push themselves in their pursuits.”

Helen Brooks Regan Faculty Leadership Award

Lawrence Vogel, professor of philosophy, is the recipient of the 2013 Helen Brooks Regan Faculty Leadership Award, presented annually to a tenured faculty member whose outstanding service in a leadership role exemplifies the college's commitment to shared governance, democratic process and campus community development.

Vogel, a professor at Connecticut College since 1989, is an expert in ethics, applied ethics, phenomenology and existentialism. He was honored for his college wide commitment to service and leadership, including chairing most of the major faculty and campus committees at some point over the course of his career.

In summarizing the reasons Vogel was chosen for the award, Associate Professor of Biology Phillip Barnes said, “He doesn’t just serve, but actively moves the faculty and college forward on multiple levels.” 

May 13, 2013