May 11, 2022

Dear Members of the Connecticut College Community,

This Friday we will celebrate the ninth annual Presidential Staff Recognition Awards, which honor the excellence of our staff. After an overwhelmingly positive response again this year, I am pleased to let you know about the outcome of this year’s selection process.

There are five individual award categories for this program: an award for rising star, an award for inspiration, an award for service excellence, an award for citizenship, and an award for student support. And in some years, we also give a Team Collaboration Award. The selection committee received 104 nominations from across campus for individuals and 13 for teams and I am very pleased to announce the 2022 award winners:

  • Rising Star – Ashlyn Healey, assistant director of admission

  • Inspiration – Dot Wang, associate director of advising

  • Service Excellence – Marco Michaud, supervisor of projects & procurement and Donna Scott, bursar

  • Citizenship – Margaret Bounds, director of sustainability

  • Student Support – Noel Garrett, dean of academic support and executive director of the academic resource center

  • Team Collaboration – Connecticut College Child Development Lab School

I hope you will join me on Friday, May 13, at 9:30 a.m. for the Presidential Staff Recognition Breakfast and Awards Ceremony to celebrate the hard work and dedication of all staff and to honor our awardees. This event, which is hosted by Staff Council, will take place in the 1962 Room of Crozier-Williams.

I would like to thank this year’s selection committee—Tiffany Thiele, national media relations manager and chair-elect of Staff Council; Erika Smith, dean of the college; Sadia Priyanka, assistant professor of economics; Jacqui Copp, leadership gift officer; and David Meneses Ontiveros ’23, for their work in sorting through the excellent nominations. Thanks also go to Cheryl Banker, chair of Staff Council, Reginald White, vice president for human resources, and Lauren Middleton, secretary of the College, for their work to make this award program successful in its ninth year.

I look forward to seeing you on Friday.



Katherine Bergeron


Katherine Bergeron